Music Friday- Whip It

My first memory of this song was at a karaoke night at Seattle University when I was in college. I’m sure I’d heard it before then, but that’s what I remember now. Though I’d been called a slacker on many an occasion, it wasn’t until years later that I heard about Bob Dobbs and the Church of the Subgenius when I unwittingly attended one of their services, mistaking it for a house party.

To some people Devo was a way of life, to some they were a musical inspiration, to some a one-hit wonder, and to some nothing more than another page in a sourcebook of 80s-inspired humor. Feel free to share any memories you have of them here.

Leave a Reply

