Which is more stupid: Sarah Palin or the internet?

I’d like to think that ours is the generation that calls the internet out on its bullshit.  I don’t have any data to support this.  Nobody does short of the NSA, and they’re probably not even giving my blog a second look (at least I’d like to think that anyways.)  We remember what it was like before the internet became stupid.  We remember the days before hashtags, tweets, and misattributed quotes on famous and possibly photoshopped persons.  In all likelihood, our generation has made the most posts to slashdot and provided the most links to snopes1.  We are the most cynical generation, and the oldest generation that is really comfortable with the internet.  We practically created the damn thing after all.

So recently I stumbled across this floater about one of the most well known political figures of our generation.  Leaving aside for now the erroneous date on that quote, I wondered why would she have done this in the first place?  I mean she had heard the quote, right?  Perhaps not.  It wouldn’t surprise me at all if she had never heard that quote.  It wouldn’t surprise me at all if she was just trolling.  Actually, I think the only thing that would surprise me about Sarah Palin is if she ever won a Nobel Prize in anything2.  Despite all of this, I decided to google my way to the answer.  Lots of pictures came up of that meme and that picture, and I noticed something peculiar when they did: she wasn’t always holding a cross in the picture.  That’s when I decided that maybe this was a job for snopes.

Well, snopes apparently didn’t think it was worth their time to debunk the origins of a picture with an obvious error in the quote that went with it, but this discussion did occur in their forums two years ago.  And while I was there, I came across this article, debunking the veracity of every racy photo of Sarah Palin that’s ever made the rounds on the internet.  Maybe I knew that before, but when I sat down to write this article, I was thinking of referencing one of those pictures3 so I obviously forgot something along the way.  Twenty years ago, I was pretty sure the internet was making me smarter.  Today, I’m pretty sure it’s making me stupider.

So to answer the original question, I guess I would have to say whichever one is put in front of me.

1-      If you are still reading NSA, could you kindly provided some data to support this.

2-      Those swedes know what they are doing. 

3-      Something along the lines of maybe when fascism comes to America it will be carrying a rifle, not a cross.  I mean they’re sort of the same thing, it’s just that one works faster than the other.

Leave a Reply

