reblog: Thank God you’re an outcast

Today I want to link to a friend’s blog.  The author, Kate Makkai, is probably the most famous person I know who doesn’t have her own Wikipedia page.  But first I want to share why I’m linking to her post in the first place, as it might seem a little out of the realm of my blog’s general theme.  Sure, raising the Homeland Generation is something that we do, and I know some readers have daughters on the precipice of junior high school.  If you find this article useful for that purpose, that’s great, that’s what the article was for in the first place.  But that’s not the reason why I’m sharing it. 

I’m sharing it because it paints a vivid picture of what our youth was like.  Although I’m sure the cautions of this article are still necessary today, at the same time I think they are tales from a time when this ordeal was much more difficult than it is now.  Today high school students are shown an edited version of The Breakfast Club as if it is a cautionary tale, not as if it is the lone bright spot in a Balkanized high school wasteland.  They are led to believe that those kids actually got along with each other when they went back to school the next week.  When that movie first came out, the genius of it was that it made us all hope that would be true even though we knew that it was impossible.  Times have changed.

I’m sharing this story because it is true, and because it is the type of story that this blog was meant for.  Maybe someday I’ll share a similar story.  But for now, here is  Thank God you’re an outcast.

Leave a Reply

