Come share your stories

My whole intent when I started this blog was for it to be a place to share stories.  So perhaps now that I’ve thrown a few examples out there, it’s time to formally acknowledge that.  If you are part of Generation X and would like to write about something, pretty much anything, let me know.  If you don’t think you are part of Generation X, but you know it’s looming close by and you don’t identify with any other generation, the same rule applies.  If you think you are part of a generation that hasn’t been officially named or that most people would have to google to find the name of, the same rule applies.  If you have your own blog and would rather write stuff there, maybe I’ll link to it on occasion if I see something that fits particularly well with the theme of this blog, especially if you ask me to.  But possibly even if you don’t.

So I thought I’d throw a couple of ideas out there for people to think about:

Anniversaries: if it’s the anniversary of something significant, particularly the 20th anniversary, it’s probably worth writing about.  I’ve already written a 20th anniversary post of something that’s not really all that significant to our generation, so it doesn’t necessary have to be significant.  Last night I watched Pulp Fiction, thought about writing about it, and then realized the 20th anniversary of its release is in May, so I think I’ll wait until then.

Which brings us to…

Movies: if the main character/director was born in the 60s or 70s it’s probably worth writing about. It’s helpful if it’s a movie that most people have heard of, but not necessary.

Television: I don’t have one, but I’m sure someone does.  Which makes you that much more qualified to talk about whatever has been going on there.

Music: I plan on talking about grunge at some point, maybe several times, but that doesn’t mean someone else can’t do so as well.  Or talk about other music like Madonna or Michael Jackson.  Probably anything that peaked in popularity in either the 80s or 90s is fine.

Books: Are there authors who were particularly important to our generation?

Stand-up Comedy: I’ve never followed stand up comedy all that much, but it seems like there are lots of good stand-up comedians from our generation: Chris Rock, Dave Chappelle, David Spade, Jim Gaffigan, Janeane Garofalo.

And getting more serious…

Financial Crises: what did it feel like for any of the recessions or other tumultuous times like housing market crashes that have been hitting us at the worst possible time?

Divorce: It seems like there was always some friend who had one or the other parent run off.  And it was never once a good thing.

Racism: We are the first generation that grew up completely in integrated schools and the last one that listened to music that was so divisive.  There are stories here.

Homophobia: Maybe I’m just thinking of the same Guns N Roses song that was racist, but it certainly feels like attitudes have changed a lot since we were in high school.

HIV/AIDS: I think I’ve met one person in my life with HIV, so I don’t feel qualified to talk about this.  But it seems like something that has hit our generation pretty hard.  And that there are stories worth telling.

War: how did any of the numerous wars that occurred while we grew up or when we were of age to participate affect us?

Immigration: the reason we see wildly different numbers for the size of our generation from various reports is the difference between those of us born here and those of us who immigrated to here.  Which makes it appear that we have more immigrants than the generations that surround us.

Drugs: this isn’t something that’s ever been important for me to follow all that much, but the attitudes about and subsequent actions (whether they be laws or method of education) to the use of drugs were far different during our youth than they were before or after it.

Disability: how have accomodiations changed in the past 20 years?

There are more possibilities.  Many more.  And I certainly don’t feel qualified to talk about a large number of things on that list, which is part of why I’m asking for contributions.

Leave a Reply

