Why not a scapeduck?

L’azazel, the scapegoat, is a motif that I latched onto at some point in my life.  It always bothered me when someone got blamed for something they didn’t do.  For example, you probably thought this guy was a terrorist, even though he was only considered to be a suspect for less than six months and has been dead for six years.  You see his picture and you think “that’s one of those people who did something bad” you might not even remember what it was.  But it wasn’t him, it was someone else who did it, and I don’t even know what that guy looks like.  It bothers me that this happened.  It bothers me that after 9/11 people in Arizona killed a Sikh at a 7-11.  Even if you assumed that all Muslims were evil, if you went to Kashmir and told people about that they would laugh at you.  There are many more examples I could list, but I think you get the idea.

So getting back to the original question, Yom Kippur specifically mentions a goat, not a duck, not a bunny that is to be scaped.  I don’t know why it must be a goat any more than I know why not to stop at two or proceed on to four when counting before lobbing a Holy Hand Grenade.  It seems like a duck would be easier, but perhaps they were hard to come by in the Middle East of 4000 years ago.  If there were a scapeduck, I think it should be Howard, because after his movie, there wasn’t another movie released based on a Marvel comic for twelve years.  So really, I guess the scapeduck should be George.

Earlier this week, I typed generation scapegoat into google to find my blog, and it was on the second page, but the first page and a half were all links to things related to this book written in 1996.  I haven’t read it, but it seems about right…

Leave a Reply

