The politics of loose gravel.

So shortly after I started this blog, I saw this on facebook.  For whatever reason, it reminded me of this skit I saw on some late night TV show in about 1997, probably MADTV, as that’s the one I was most likely to watch at that time in my life.  I tried to find that skit, but if you look for “Star Wars, Generation” on Youtube, you get lots of stuff.

Anyways, in the skit there was a rant by one 20something guy about how this other 20something guy didn’t understand him because he hadn’t seen Star Wars in the theater when he was growing up.  There was a disconnect between the two because of a three year age difference.  He used the word generation to describe this.  It was funny enough that I still remember that it happened all these years later, but I don’t think I understood the implications of this at the time.

Nobody wants to be part of Generation X.  I mean who would want to be part of something like that?  Those are the bad people.  The Slackers.  The poor investors.  The little demon possessed children in early 70s horror movies.  So whoever this Generation X is, they are a little bit older than us, or a little bit younger than us.  We are the nameless generation that is between them and something else.  Kind of like that article mentioned.  I can’t really claim to be part of Generation X, either.  I mean, I’ve never even read anything by Douglas Coupland. 

So what we end up with is not really a generation at all, it’s a bunch of cohorts, or something.  There’s the class of ’84, the class of ’87, the class of ’92, the class of ’98. But there’s nothing really holding them all together.  On top of that, there’s this really cool thing called subgenres: metal, hip-hop, rap, disco, goth, techno, grunge, punk, hardcore, postpunk, etc.  We don’t really even identify with our own cohorts, necessarily.  We don’t have a Beatles or a Brittney Spears.  We have subgenres.  And honestly, I’m not sure I’d have it any other way, in spite of what I’m going to say next.

Now imagine you live in a democratic country where citizens have some say in what’s going on.  Imagine that at any given time this citizenship, or at least the parts of it that count for political purposes, can be broken down roughly into young adults, middle aged, and elders.  Imagine that each of these groups is self-serving and tries to shift public policy in the direction of whatever would help itself out the best.  And for however long you’ve been alive, whether it’s 33 years or 47 years, or something in between, there’s really been nothing in that spot to represent you.  Instead there is this nebulous thing called Generation X somewhere nearby, and whatever you are is like this loose gravel that surrounds it.  And whenever policy decisions are being made you’re being represented by a shovelful of gravel being tossed in front of a Volkswagen bus filled with aging hippies.

I guess you don’t have to consider yourself part of Generation X to read this blog.  I consider this blog to be for Generation Scapegoat.  It includes all that loose gravel floating around not sure of where it belongs.  And if someone out there in that loose gravel wants to write something about You Can’t Do that on Television, or even, gulp, the New Kids on the Block, then I suppose that would be alright too.

One Response to “The politics of loose gravel.”

  1. […] Or even 1975 if that buzzfeed article is to be […]

Leave a Reply

