Failure

Maybe this whole blog thing is a bad idea, but I think I’m going to do it anyways.  It’s not like it’s the first bad idea I’ve ever had.  It could be right up there with entering the electronics industry after graduating from college in the late 90s, or buying my first ever home in 2007.  Or what happened at the 8th grade science fair.  You’ll know this blog is a success if I’m ever brave enough to share that tale on the internet.  One thing I’ve learned in my 40 years, though, is that life has lots of failures in it.  I’m talking epic destruction that comes in spite of the most well thought out intentions and hard work.  I’ve also learned that the only way to succeed is to keep failing: keep throwing shit on the wall until it sticks, and if you run out of shit start taking laxatives.

I think part of the reason why I want to write this blog is because I’ve realized that some of the most meaningful times I’ve had in my life have been spent in and around failure.  And it seems that of all the failures that have come through in the forty years I’ve been alive, they’ve hit people my age harder than they’ve hit anyone else.  That’s not a rant, or a whine, or a complaint, that’s just reality.  I’m OK with that.  That’s the way it’s been, that’s the way it will keep being.  Life sucks.  I’m going to live it anyways.  I’m even going to enjoy it.  But I’ve found I appreciate it more when I surround myself with people who have had to face the same murderer’s row of hardships that I have.  Yeah, everyone in this country has had to live through the dot com bubble, the War on Terror, and the housing collapse.  But not the same way.  If you are a Baby Boomer it might have been like a kick in the ribs.  If you are a Millennial it might have been like a kick in the shins.  Those motherfuckers kicked us in the nuts every single time.  And we know that there’s going to be more Ro-Shambos coming right up until Social Security gets the last shot at us.

I’ve found in my 40 years that some of the biggest frustrations have come when I’ve allowed undo influence in my life to those who took it in the ribs or the shins, instead of to those who took it in the nuts like I did.  I can’t fully articulate why this is, but hopefully it will come out in what I write in the months to come.  And recently I’ve come to realize that the frustration of many of my peers, those in my age group, seems to come from a similar place.  And so I guess the point of this blog is to just kind of have a place for us to hang out and ice our crotches for a while as we get ready for whatever comes next.    

If you’re thinking this is just another Gen X rant, you’re wrong.  I’m literally not even talking to you.  You should stop reading now.  Take your pension or your twitter account and go find something else to do.  You have most of the rest of the internet and all of network television to entertain yourselves with.  This is our space.  We’re just going to sit here icing our crotches and sharing our war stories for a bit.  And then we’re going to get back up and figure out how to fix this mess you’ve gotten us into.  The same way we’ve been doing for the last forty years.

2 Responses to “Failure”

  1. Daniel Dvorkin Says:

    I have no problem with a blog of-by-and-for Gen X, and of course each generation experiences things differently, but I’m not particularly easy with the idea that we have it uniquely bad. Lots of Baby Boomers are getting laid off too young for Social Security but too old to be considered re-employable by the Gen Xers and even Millennials doing the hiring, while Millennials are looking at an even worse job market and more student loan debt than we were–not to mention that they’re the ones who did most of the dying in Iraq and Afghanistan. There’s plenty of badness to go around.

    (x-posted to Facebook)

    • Thanks for the reply. The by and for is the most important part. I’m kind of sick of trying to fight for a place at the table of American culture, and I don’t want to even have to bother with that. I don’t want to have to try to justify this for anybody outside of this age bracket.
      Having said that. Yeah, things are bad for everyone. Maybe it’s just the specific types of problems that have hit us. Maybe it’s how we respond to problems versus how others respond to them. The three things I mentioned are three things I do believe have hit us harder than anyone else. I could be wrong about the war part, however. I know when those wars started there were lots of people my age involved, but wars tend to drag on a bit, and I haven’t actually looked at the statistics recently.

Leave a Reply

